FAULT Reviews A!MS’ Debut Album, Offshore

While the music industry has come a long way since A!MS’ breakthrough debut, his ability to continue releasing entertaining and thought-provoking music throughout is a testimony to his musical genius. With that being said, all eyes have been trained on the artist for his new album, ‘Offshore’.

The album starts off strong with OG Life (Offshore) a well produced track that shows off A!MS’ strong songwriting skills. Moving onto A!MS – HONOR ft. AV Allure, Projexx, & Julian Marley, we see the magic begin. The previously released single has already proved itself to be one of the best collaborations of the year where all collaborators get their time to shine with no one artist overstaying their welcome. The track’s music video has already amassed over five million views on Youtube and cemented A!MS as a force to be reckoned with.

The true beauty of the album is without a doubt A!MS’ ability to draw inspiration from a number of different genres. Listening is very much an experience as we transcend dancehall with ‘Getaway’, a classic grime offering from ‘Conscience’ ft Grizzy & Eyez to the fast-paced DIABLO. DIABLO has arguably been the albums biggest track by audience response this release thus far garnering it over 10 million views on Youtube. The track is full of all the swagger, artistic presence and hooks needed to accompany the world-class production.

Island vibes takeover for tracks iLike and Pull Up and the album is all the stronger for it with the tracks enlisting the strength of AV Allure and WSTRN’s Akelle AV Allure, Yana Toma, Eleftheria Eleftheriou respectfully.

Slowing things down for Hail, we are met with the thought-provoking and insightful anthem complemented by a smooth vocal from Sebastian Kole. The break from the previous upbeat tracks is sudden but certainly needed to give the listener room to breathe and respect the wicked writer’s pen at hand in this project. It should also be mentioned that Sebastian Kole’s addition to the track helps elevate the song with his golden vocal and silky smooth vocal tones.

Moving through the remainder of the album, Yea Yea Yea and Hunting Season and Supreme we’re treated to further upbeat productions to close the album with a bang.

All in all the album serves as an enjoyable journey through the artist that is A!MS. While the music industry has changed over the years, A!MS proves that the best way to traverse such an ever-changing environment is with versatility. From the bouncing beats of Supreme to the slow and touching Hail, the album is full of moments to remember. While it can be easy for artists to play it safe and stick to what they know, A!MS’ risk pays off. While no two tracks are the same, in style or production, together, all tracks help form an album stronger than the sum of its parts. As the future continues to shine brighter for A!MS, we’re excited to see what’s next for the artist.

Click here to stream the album