MTV Brand New announces two showcases at Islington Assembly Hall

MTV has announced that some of the most exciting names on its Brand New 2014 shortlist will perform in two exclusive sessions at the Islington Assembly Hall. On January 29 and 30, the venue will play host to up-and-coming stars like Banks, Ella Eyre, Kwabs, Joel Compass and BRITs Critic’s Choice winner Sam Smith.

 photo ScreenShot2014-01-19at223223.png

Katy B is also confirmed as a special guest performer on the 29th, where she’ll join George Ezra and Ella Eyre.

“I’m so excited to be doing a Brand New session for MTV at The Islington Assembly Hall,” says Katy of the performance.  “I’ll be playing an exclusive set to really make the most of the intimate space.”

 photo KatyBpic.jpg

Ella Eyre, who collaborated with Rudimental last year on their hit ‘Waiting All Night‘ and was nominated for the BRITs Critic’s Choice Award as well as being on the MTV Brand New shortlist, is equally as excited, saying: “Being nominated alongside such great new artists was incredible – so I’m really looking forward to bringing my live show to MTV Brand New for 2014.”

The two shows are being held in association with Emporio Armani Diamonds and will see five of the most promising names on MTV’s shortlist perform to a crowd of industry insiders. The performances will be broadcast on MTV Music on February 9. January 30’s line-up consists of Sam SmithJoel Compass and Kwabs.

FAULT Favourite Banks also appears on the shortlist. Check out her track, ‘Waiting Game’, showcased in our exclusive behind the scenes video with Sasha Grey:

 photo benE_joel_008-S1-0003_v2.jpg

Joel Compass

 photo KWABS_9_187.jpg


The full MTV Brand New 2014 shortlist features:

Ella Eyre
Elyar Fox
George Ezra
Joel Compass
Royal Blood
Sam Smith
The Vamps
Marie Naffah (Unsigned Winner)

Words by Thea de Gallier